McKinnon sceptics in the media

School holidays have just finished and a couple of very cool things have happened so far. The first of which was a fantastic Age article written by Jewel Topsfield about the sceptical society. With the interesting title of “Sceptical group brave enough to tackle the big issues, like the Stallone rump reading” the article talks about why I started the group and what sorts of things we cover. The title was a reference to Jacqueline Stallone’s business of “rumpology“.

With the exception of a couple of bizarre emails the feedback from the article has been overwhelmingly positive. Many people have commented on their appreciation of children being taught how to avoid falling for cons and getting sucked into the potentially dangerous world of pseudoscience.

The best result from the article was getting contacted by a producer of channel Ten’s The Circle asking me to come and have a quick chat on the show. I immediately agreed and spend the next few weeks nervously planning what I would say. This turned out to be a waste of time because I had no idea what I was going to be asked, but I think I winged it ok. It was a really amazing experience and everybody there was fantastically friendly, from the producer to the backstage crew to the hosts.

Fingers crossed that I will be asked back, I’m pretty sure I’d be more comfortable a second time 🙂

If you liked my appearance and want to see more scepticism on Australian television, please contact the show via thecircle@networkten.com.au or Twitter. I think there are a lot of people out there who would like to see something countering the numerous psychics that they have on their show.

Hopefully this isn’t the end of our media appearances, I assume a movie deal is just around the corner.

1 Comment

Filed under McKinnon Secondary Sceptical Society, Media

One response to “McKinnon sceptics in the media

  1. Pingback: Interview by Richard Saunders on the Skeptic Zone! | Sceptic School

Leave a Reply

